家庭法》的相关规定

如果您有亲权令并希望与子女一起出国旅行,那么在制定任何计划之前,您应该确认一些事项,否则您可能会受到刑事指控。1975 年《家庭法》 (以下简称 "该法")第 65Y 条规定,如果子女受到以下方面的养育令约束,则将该子女带出或送出澳大利亚即构成犯罪:

  • 孩子与谁一起生活;
  • 孩子与父母双方以及与其他人(如祖父母)相处的时间;
  • 孩子如何与不住在一起的父母或其他人沟通;
  • 父母责任的分配。

同样,如果法院正在审理根据《法案》第 65Z 条就上述事项发出的养育令,则将儿童带离或送出澳大利亚即构成犯罪。

如果未经授权将儿童带离澳大利亚,而澳大利亚已下达了亲职教育令,则对不遵守亲职教育令的行为处以三年监禁(1975 年《家庭法》 第七部分第 13A 节)。

规定的例外情况

不过,上述规定也有例外,如果在国际旅行之前存在以下情况,则该法允许将儿童带离澳大利 亚:(a)儿童在国际旅行中被绑架;(b)儿童在国际旅行中被绑架;(c)儿童在国际旅行中被绑架:

  1. 每一方的明确书面同意;或
  2. 已签发规定出国旅行的法院命令。

这意味着,如果您有父母养育令,或者是父母养育令法庭诉讼的一方,除非您满足上述条件之一,否则不得进行任何涉及受该命令约束的儿童的国际旅行或这些诉讼。

如果你们无法达成协议并获得双方明确的书面同意,那么让孩子出国旅行的唯一办法就是向法院申请命令。

向法院提出申请

如果现有的法庭命令不再反映当前对子女的安排,您可能希望更改命令。如果您或另一方无法合理地遵守亲子关系令,也应更改该命令。如果您和另一方希望改变安排并签订亲子计划,或申请同意令以更改现有命令,您务必要寻求合格、独立的法律建议。我们的专业家庭律师可以帮助您了解您的法律权利和义务,并解释法律如何适用于您的案件。

请注意,育儿计划不同于育儿令。育儿令由法院签发。亲职教育计划是双方之间的书面协议,规定了子女的亲职教育安排。值得注意的是,亲职教育计划在法律上不可强制执行。但是,法院下达的养育令可以根据父母随后制定的养育计划进行更改(《法案》第 64D 条)。

申请亲子鉴定令的技巧

如果您考虑向法院申请父母养育令,您的最终父母养育令必须包括有关子女国际旅行的规定。这些条款可能会涉及一些问题,例如是否需要所有各方都同意国际旅行,以及需要提前多少时间通知另一方。

如果最终的养育令规定子女只能与一方生活在一起,而该方是该子女的唯一抚养人,那么第 65Y 条仍然有效,父母双方都必须同意子女的国际旅行,除非有适当的规定允许该方安排子女的国际旅行。由此可见,由合格、独立的家庭律师起草适当的命令是多么重要。

如果父母无法达成一致,该怎么办?

如果父母中的另一方不同意您带子女出国旅行,您可以尝试解决家庭纠纷或进行调解。例如,作为希望与子女一起旅行的父母一方,您可能需要向澳大利亚联邦巡回和家事法院(第 1 庭)或澳大利亚联邦巡回和家事法院(第 2 庭)提出申请,以确定这一问题。在大多数情况下,法院会考虑子女而非父母的意愿和需求,以确定子女出国旅行的最佳利益。

U v U(2002) 211 CLR 238 一案中,法院认为,虽然行动自由是澳大利亚成年人的一项宪法权利,但这一权利并不超越儿童的权利,这意味着儿童的权利并不从属于成年人的行动自由权。

如果您未经另一方父母的许可而重新安置子女,会发生什么情况?

家庭诱拐

如果父母一方未事先申请许可,另一方可以申请追回令。申请该命令的父母一方可以得到联邦和州警官的协助,以安全送回子女(《法案》第 67Q 条)。违法的父母一方可能会被逮捕,其未来的父母权利将通过追回令而改变。

国际绑架和《海牙公约

澳大利亚是《海牙儿童拐骗公约》的缔约国,因此澳大利亚人必须经过从也是该公约缔约国的另一个国家找回孩子的程序。该公约的宗旨是

  1. 确保被错误地遣送到或滞留在任何缔约国的儿童迅速返回;以及
  2. 确保缔约国法律规定的监护权和探视权在其他缔约国得到切实尊重。

联系我们

如果您想了解更多有关 Genesis Edge 家庭法团队如何为您提供帮助的信息,请拨打我们的全国热线 1300 559 888,或在此处填写咨询表。

Relevant Provisions in the Family Law Act

If you have parenting orders and want to travel overseas with your children, you should confirm a few things before making any plans, otherwise you may be subject to criminal charges. Section 65Y of the Family Law Act 1975 (‘Act’) provides that taking or sending a child outside Australia is an offence if that child is subject to a parenting order dealing with:

  • who the child lives with;
  • how much time the child spends with each parent and with other people, such as grandparents;
  • how the child communicates with a parent they do not live with, or other people;
  • the allocation of parental responsibility.

Similarly, taking or sending a child from Australia constitutes an offence if there are proceedings before the Court for the making of a parenting order for the matters referred to above pursuant to section 65Z of the Act.

If there is an unauthorised removal of children from Australia where a parenting order is in place, the penalty for failing to comply with a Parenting Order is imprisonment for three years (Division 13A of Part VII in the Family Law Act 1975).

Exceptions to the Provisions

There are, however, exceptions to the above provisions where the Act allows a child to be taken from Australia if, prior to the international travel, there is:

  1. the express written consent of each party; or
  2. a Court Order providing for the overseas travel has been made.

This means that, if you have a parenting order or are a party to Court proceedings for a parenting order, any international travel involving a child subject to that order, or those proceedings must not take place unless you have satisfied one of the above conditions.

If you fail to reach agreement and receive the express written consent of each party, then the only way to have children to travel overseas, is to apply to the Court for Orders.

Apply to the Court

If an existing court order no longer reflects current arrangements for a child, you may wish to have the orders varied. A parenting order should also be varied if you or the other party cannot reasonably comply with the order. If you and the other party wish to change the arrangements and enter into a parenting plan or apply for consent orders that vary the existing orders, it is very important you seek qualified, independent legal advice. Our expert Family Lawyers can assist you understand your legal rights and obligations and explain how the law applies to your case.

Please note that a parenting plan is different from a parenting order. A parenting order is made by a court. A parenting plan is a written agreement between the parties that sets out parenting arrangements for children. It is worth noting that a Parenting Plan is not legally enforceable. However, a parenting order made by the court may be altered by a subsequent parenting plan made by the parents (s 64D of the Act).

Tips for Parenting Order Application

If you consider applying for a parenting order to the Court, it is important that your final parenting orders include provisions for international travel of your child or your children. These provisions may address issues such as whether it is required for all parties to consent to international travel and how much notice to be given to the other party.

In the case where there is a final parenting order that a child lives only with one party who has sole parental responsibility for that child, section 65Y still operates and both parents are required to consent to international travel of the child unless there are proper provisions permitting the party to arrange the international travel of the child in place. This highlights how important it is to have properly drafted orders prepared by qualified and independent Family Lawyers.

What happens if the parents can’t reach an agreement?

If the other parent does not agree to you travelling with the children overseas, you can attempt family dispute resolution or mediation. For example, you as the parent wishing to travel with the children may need to make an application to the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (Division 1) or Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (Division 2) to determine this issue. In most cases, the Court will consider the wishes and needs of the children and not the parents, to determine the best interest of the children to travel overseas.

In U v U (2002) 211 CLR 238, the courts held that although freedom of movement is a constitutional right for adults in Australia, this right does not surpass that of the children which means that the right of the child is not subordinate to the right to freedom of movement for adults.

What Happens if You Relocate your Children Without the Other Parent’s Permission?

Domestic Abduction

If one parent has not sought prior permission, the other parent can apply for a recovery order. The parent who applies for this order can have the assistance of federal and state police officers for the safe return of the children (s 67Q of the Act). An offending parent may be arrested, and their future parental rights will be changed through the recovery order.

International abduction and the Hague Convention

Australia is a party to the Hague Child Abduction Convention, so Australians are subject to a process of recovery from another country that is also party to this Convention. The objects of the Convention are:

  1. to secure the prompt return of children wrongfully removed to or retained in any Contracting State; and
  2. To ensure that the rights of custody and of access under the law of a Contracting State are effectively respected in other contracting States.

Contact Us

If you would like more information on how the Family Law Team at Genesis Edge can assist you, please call our National Hotline on 1300 559 888, or fill out the enquiry form here.