分居对每个人来说都是一段艰难的时期。家庭的破裂会给所有当事人,尤其是子女带来巨大的压力和焦虑。在离婚诉讼期间,父母试图保护子女免受不愉快行为的伤害,但往往很难做到这一点。他们常常在父母之间左右为难,生活状况岌岌可危,而且常常觉得自己对发生的事情没有发言权。

尽管如此,父母通常还是希望在养育子女方面考虑子女的意愿。为了确定子女的居住地,通常会制定养育令或养育计划。父母养育令是由法院签发的命令,用于安排子女的居住地以及他们与父母双方相处的时间。

法院在下达养育令时,会考虑诸多因素,其中最主要的考虑因素是

  1. 孩子有权与父母双方建立有意义的关系。
  2. 保护儿童免受伤害的权利。

法院在确定儿童的生活安排时还会考虑另外 16 个因素,包括

  • 儿童与父母和/或其他人(祖父母、亲戚)关系的性质。
  • 孩子的父母在多大程度上利用了或没有利用与孩子相处的机会。
  • 孩子的父母在多大程度上履行了满足孩子需求的义务。

 

对儿童意见的重视程度

孩子的意愿就是这些额外因素之一。一个常见的误解是,法院会自动考虑这一点。许多人还认为,法院在下达养育令时,会在特定年龄段更加重视孩子的意见。事实并非如此。孩子不能选择自己的生活安排。

此外,法院在确定什么符合儿童的最大利益时,永远无法保证会非常重视儿童的意见。 这些考虑因素都是在个案基础上做出的(Bondelmonte v Bondelmonte[2017] HCA 8)。然而,必须注意的是,根据儿童的年龄和成熟度、理解水平以及他们在形成自己的观点时是否受到他人的影响,他们的观点可能会受到进一步的重视。

此外,孩子越大、越独立,法院就越不可能下达与他们意见相悖的命令。例如,当孩子到了十多岁时,他们通常会变得更加独立,可以自己安排与自己想生活在一起的人生活在一起。历史案例表明,当孩子超过 14 岁时,法院并没有做出违背孩子意愿的命令。

法院在决定是否考虑儿童的意见时还会审查其他一些考虑因素,包括

  • 儿童意见的强度以及坚持这些意见的时间;以及
  • 观点在多大程度上是基于情感而非深思熟虑的逻辑观点;以及
  • 儿童的意见经过深思熟虑的程度;以及
  • 是否有意无意地对孩子施加压力,使其形成这种观点。

 

孩子如何表达这些观点?

孩子可以通过多种方式表达这些观点,包括

  • 订购家庭报告:

儿童可以通过与家庭报告撰写人/家庭顾问(通常是训练有素的辅导员或心理学家)面谈来表达对其生活安排的看法。此人的工作是评估儿童与所有相关方的关系。

在这次面谈中,家庭报告撰写人还会询问孩子对其生活安排的愿望。他们还会向孩子提问,以评估他们的成熟度和理解能力。家庭报告撰写人还会与父母进行面谈,让他们表达自己对子女的看法。

撰写人在与各方面谈后,将撰写一份 "家庭报告"。这份报告将协助各方和法院确定孩子的最佳生活安排。

  • 指定一名独立儿童律师(ICL):

在复杂的案件中,ICL 通常被指定在法庭上代表儿童的最大利益。然而,必须注意的是,与其他律师不同,国际儿童法律顾问不会按照儿童的指示行事。相反,国际儿童法律顾问会考虑有关安排,并自行评估什么符合儿童的最佳利益。在这样做的过程中,他们可能会也可能不会赞同儿童的立场。

 

案例研究:

Kagan & Earle[2013] FMCAfam 88 案是法院不太重视儿童意见的一个例子。在此案中,法院认为《家庭法报告》在暗示孩子偏向母亲方面缺乏说服力。法院还认为,母亲不断变化的生活和就学建议既不稳定也不令人满意。

Separation is a difficult time for everyone involved. The breakdown of a family creates much stress and anxiety for all parties involved, especially the children. Whilst parents try and protect their children from unpleasant behaviour during divorce proceedings, it is often difficult to do so. They are often torn between parents, are placed in precarious living situations and often feel they lack a voice in what’s occurring.

Despite this, parents usually want to ensure the children’s wishes are considered in terms of parenting. To determine where the children are to live, usually parenting orders or parenting plans are made. A parenting order is a order made by a court to arrange where a child is to live and how they may spend time with both parents.

In making a parenting order, the court considers numerous factors, with the primary considerations being:

  1. The child’s right to have a meaningful relationship with both parents.
  2. The child’s right to be protected from harm.

There is also a list of sixteen additional factors which are considered by a court when determining a child’s living arrangements, including:

  • The nature of the relationship of the child with the parents and/or other persons (grandparents, relatives).
  • The extent to which the child’s parents have taken or failed to take the opportunity to spend time with the child.
  • The extent to which the child’s parents have fulfilled their obligations to meet the child’s needs.

 

How Much Weight is Given to the Childrens’ Views

The child’s wishes are one of these additional factors. There is a common misconception that a court automatically takes this into account. Many people also believe there is specific age when a child’s views are given greater weight by the court when making parenting orders. This is not true. A child does not get to choose their living arrangements.

Furthermore, there is never a guarantee that a Court will give much weight to a child’s views when determining what is in the best interest of the child.  These considerations are made on a case-by-case basis (Bondelmonte v Bondelmonte [2017] HCA 8). However, it must be noted further weight may be given to a child’s views based upon their age and maturity, level of understanding, and whether they have been influenced by another person in forming their views.

Additionally, the older and more independent a child becomes, it becomes less likely that the court will make an order which is contrary to their views. For instance,  when a child reaches their mid- teens, they are usually at a point where they are more independent and can physically place themselves with who they want to live with. Historical cases suggest that where a child is over the age of 14, the Court has not made an order contrary to the child’s wishes.

Several additional considerations a court will review when deciding whether to consider children’s views include:

  • The strength of the child’s views and how long they have been held; and
  • The extent to which the views are based on emotional attachments rather than a considered and logical viewpoint; and
  • The extent to which the child’s views are well thought through; and
  • Whether there was any pressure on the child to form the views, intentional or not.

 

How Does A Child Express These Views?

A child can express these views in numerous ways, including:

  • Ordering a Family Report:

A child can express these views about their living arrangements through an interview with a family report writer/ Family Consultant (who is usually a trained counsellor or psychologist). This individual’s job is to assess the relationship of the child to all parties involved.

During this interview, the family report writer will also ask the child their wishes on their living arrangements. They will also pose questions to the child to assess their maturity and understanding. The family report writer will also interview each parent who will express their own views of their children.

After the writer has interviewed all parties, they will then create a ‘Family Report’. This report assists the parties and the court in determining the best living arrangements for the child.

  • Appointing an Independent Children Lawyer (ICL):

This ICL is usually appointed to represent the best interests of the child in court in complex cases. However, it must be noted that unlike other lawyers, an ICL does not act on the child’s instructions. Rather, the ICL considers the arrangement and makes their own assessment of what is in the child’s best interests. In doing so, they may or may not share the position of the child.

 

Case Study:

The case of Kagan & Earle [2013] FMCAfam 88 is an example of where the Court does not give much weight to the views of the child. In this matter, the Court held the Family Law Report was unconvincing in suggesting the child favoured the mother. The Court also found that the mother’s changing proposals for living and schooling was unstable and unsatisfactory.