家庭法中的疏远是指父母一方以疏远另一方的方式与子女交谈。这种疏远包括迫使子女拒绝或暂停与被疏远的家庭成员接触或建立联系。这还包括疏远的一方试图争取孩子成为自己的盟友,让他们只站在自己一边。

在激烈的时刻,疏远的话语可能看起来很小或令人满意,但有证据表明,这会对儿童的福祉和成长造成现实世界中的不利影响。此外,疏远由于其长期影响和心理伤害,已被视为一种情感虐待。

定性(访谈)研究文章 "父母疏远行为对童年疏远的成年人心理健康的影响 "深入研究了青少年时期面临父母疏远的成年人的心理健康和其他影响。与参与者相关的四大主题包括:心理健康困难(包括焦虑症和创伤反应)、情感痛苦、成瘾、药物滥用、应对问题和复原力。

因此,确实面临父母疏远的儿童必须接受个人和家庭咨询,以防止出现某些困难,包括现在或将来的情绪和行为困难。

判例法和与主要考虑因素的联系

除这些后遗症外,如果正在办理离婚和父母安排事宜,涉及疏远的父母可能会被司法机构考虑其行为。此外,《家庭法》第 60CC 条规定的首要考虑因素也可能与疏远行为有关。

Vadisanis & Vadisanis (No. 3) [2009] FamCA 1385 (23 December 2009) (austlii.edu.au)

例如,在2009 年的 Vadisanis & Vadisanis(第 3 号)一案中,父亲对母亲的疏远是一个极端的例子,B 博士发现这种疏远是及时发现的,以阻止母亲和子女之间关系的断裂。此外,父亲并不理解其行为对子女造成的负面影响,也不后悔。Le Poer Trench 大法官深入探讨了主要考虑因素。例如,在第 553-557 段,关于

  • 与孩子的父母双方建立有意义的关系对孩子的益处;

法院认为,父亲的疏远行为几乎摧毁了母亲继续与子女保持有意义关系的任何能力, ,法院应下达命令,使子女能够与父母双方保持有意义的关系,以及

  • 需要保护儿童免受虐待、忽视或家庭暴力的身心伤害;

法院认为,疏远子女与父母另一方的关系可能等同于情感虐待,使子女受到心理伤害。

法院在此案中下达的命令包括:母亲将平等分担父母责任,将有关子女的决定告知父亲,子女与母亲一起生活。

此外,第 687 段还命令父亲与治疗师会面,解决婚姻破裂的问题,以及他对自己与父母疏远的理解及其对子女的影响。此外,治疗师向母亲和独立儿童律师报告了父亲的积极进步,这将使他有更多的时间与孩子们在一起。

Colvan & Colvan [2015] FCCA 99 (13 January 2015) (austlii.edu.au)

Colvan 诉 Colvan[2015] 一案中,父亲因无法克制对妻子的负面情绪,对妻子使用了严重的父母疏离行为。在这起案件中,孩子是通过体外受精出生的,使用的是捐赠的卵子和父亲的精子。丈夫反复使用的语言模式涉及母亲与孩子没有亲生或父母关系。本德法官对此不以为然,并将其比作称母亲为孵化器。然而,与前一个案件不同的是,母亲的养育能力确实很差。

本德法官考虑的主要因素

  • 与孩子的父母双方建立有意义的关系对孩子的益处;

如果孩子们继续与父亲在一起,那么与母亲的任何有意义的关系都将不复存在(第 172-174 段)。

  • 需要保护儿童免受虐待、忽视或家庭暴力的身心伤害;

在这个案例中,母亲的育儿技巧很差,不能忍气吞声,也不能制止自己对孩子大吼大叫。然而,她对子女和丈夫夸大其词,称自己教子无方,包括身体虐待,并进一步疏远丈夫,这也是很重要的问题。第 186 段认为,如果孩子们继续和父亲在一起,他们的处境也不会好到哪里去。

得出的结论是,还有一小段时间可以采取补救措施,减少父母疏远对母亲造成的影响,并进一步重新发展他们之间的关系。

其中一些命令涉及:母亲独自承担平等分担父母责任、子女与母亲共同生活以及子女在 8 周内不得与父亲联系。下达这些命令的目的是为了立即制止父亲的疏远行为,并支持母亲与子女之间重新建立健康的关系。此外,法院还下令对父亲与子女相处的时间做出日间安排。

结论

目前的判例法表明,如果疏远是极端的,得到了医生的认可,濒临切断子女与父母一方的关 系,而且没有后悔药,没有改变的承诺,或者有否认父母身份的沟通,法院不会轻视这种行为。因为这有悖于上文探讨的主要考虑因素。

如果您需要有关任何养育子女事宜的法律建议,我们 Genesis Edge 经验丰富的资深家庭律师可以帮助您获得结果。请随时拨打 1300 559 888 联系我们,或在此填写咨询表。

 


 

  1. Miralles, Gody & Hidalgo 2021 年《父母离异对子女造成的长期情绪后果:系统回顾"《当代心理学》第 42 卷,12055-12069 页。
  2. Verhaar, Matthewson & Caitlin 2022《父母疏远行为对童年疏远的成年人心理健康的影响》,《儿童》(巴塞尔)第 4 卷。
  3. Moore & Moore 2013 'The Mirror Without a Face:评估高冲突离婚子女中的父母疏离现象》,VISTAS第 6 条。

Alienation in terms of family law involves a parent whereby they speak to their children in a manner that alienates another parent. This alienation involves pushing the child or children to reject or hold off from contacting or developing bonds with the alienated family member. This further involves the alienating party attempting to gain the child or children as an ally for themselves and have them only on their side.

In the heated moment, alienating words may seem small or satisfactory, but the evidence insists this causes real world detrimental implications to children’s well-being and growth. Further, alienation, due to its long-lasting effects and psychological damage, has been accepted as a form of emotional abuse.

The qualitative (interview based) research article ‘The Impact of Parental Alienating Behaviours on the Mental Health of Adults Alienated in Childhood,’ delved into the mental health and other impacts on adults who faced parental alienation during their youths. Four main themes were linked with the participants, which included: mental health difficulties (including anxiety disorders and trauma reactions), emotional pain, addiction, substance abuse, coping issues and resilience.

Consequently, children who do face parental alienation must undergo individual and family counselling to prevent certain difficulties, including present or future emotional and behavioural difficulties.

Case law and links to Primary considerations

Further to these aftereffects, the alienating parent involved, if undergoing divorce and parental arrangements, may have their actions considered by the judiciary. Further, the primary considerations under section 60CC of the Family Law Act may then be regarded with alienating actions.

Vadisanis & Vadisanis (No. 3) [2009] FamCA 1385 (23 December 2009) (austlii.edu.au)

For example, in Vadisanis & Vadisanis (No.3) 2009, there was an extreme instance of alienation by the father towards the mother, whereby it was found by Dr.B, that the alienation was found just in time to stop the severing of the relationship between the mother and children. Also, the father did not understand the negative impact on his children or regret his actions. Justice Le Poer Trench delved into the primary considerations. For example, from paragraphs 553-557, regarding:

  • the benefit to the child of having a meaningful relationship with both of the child’s parents;

It was the opinion of the court that the alienating actions of the father almost destroyed any ability for the mother to continue a meaningful relationship with the children and that orders were to be made to enable meaningful relationships with both parents, and

  • the need to protect the child from physical or psychological harm from being subjected to, or exposed to abuse, neglect or family violence;

It was held that alienation of a child’s relationship with another parent may equate to emotional abuse and expose the children to psychological harm.

The orders from the court in this matter involved that the mother would have Equal Shared Parental Responsibility, inform the father of decisions made regarding the children, and that the children were to live with the mother.

Also, at paragraph 687 it was ordered that the father meet with a therapist and address the breakdown of marriage, and his understanding of the parental alienation he was involved in and its effects on the children. Further, the positive progress of the father reported by his therapist to the mother and the independent children’s lawyer would then, allow him to have more time with the children.

Colvan & Colvan [2015] FCCA 99 (13 January 2015) (austlii.edu.au)

In Colvan v Colvan [2015], the father used heavy parental alienation against his wife due to his inability to hold back his negative emotions about her. In this matter, the children were born through IVF, using a donated egg and the father’s sperm. A pattern of repeated language from the husband involved that the mother did not have a biological or parental connection with the children. Judge Bender did not look lightly upon this and likened it to calling the mother an incubator. Unlike the previous case however, the mother did have poor parenting skills.

The primary considerations – considered by Judge Bender

  • the benefit to the child of having a meaningful relationship with both of the child’s parents;

If the children continued to spend time with the father, any meaningful relationship with the mother would be non-existent (paragraph 172-174).

  • the need to protect the child from physical or psychological harm from being subjected to, or exposed to abuse, neglect or family violence;

The mother in this instance had parenting skills that were poor, and an inability to hold her anger, or stop herself from yelling and swearing at the children. However, exaggerated claims about her ill-parenting from both her children and husband, including physical abuse, and further alienation from the husband were also strong issues. It was held in paragraph 186 that the children would be no better off if they remained with the father.

It was concluded that there was a small window of opportunity to use remedial action to reduce the effects the parental alienation had against the mother and further redevelop their relationship.

Some of the orders involved: the mother having sole Equal Shared Parental Responsibility, the children living with the mother and the children not communicating with the father for 8 weeks. These orders were made to halt the immediately concerning alienating behaviour of the father and to support the redevelopment of a healthy relationship between the mother and the children. Further, day arrangements were ordered by the court regarding when the father could spend time with the children.

Conclusion

The current case law indicates that where alienation is extreme, recognised by a Doctor, on the verge of severing the relationship of the children with a parent, and where there are no regrets, promise of change or where there is communication which denies parental status, the court will not look lightly upon such actions. This is because it goes against the primary considerations, as explored above.

If you require legal advice regarding any parenting matters, our highly experienced and qualified Family Lawyers at Genesis Edge can help you get the results. Please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 559 888 or fill out the enquiry form here.

 


 

  1. Miralles, Gody & Hidalgo 2021 ‘Long-Term Emotional Consequences of Parental Alienation Exposure in Children of Divorced Parents: A Systematic review’ Current Psychology Vol 42, 12055-12069.
  2. Verhaar, Matthewson & Caitlin 2022 ‘The Impact of Parental Alienating Behaviours on the Mental Health of Adults Alienated in Childhood’ Children (Basel) Vol 4.
  3. Moore & Moore 2013 ‘The Mirror Without a Face: The Assessment of Parental Alienation Among Children of High-Conflict Divorces’ VISTAS Article 6.